The oldest house in Saigon

I’ve never known there was a prince living in this 300-years-old city and still stands the house. It is just five minutes walking from my place to the house of King Gia Long’s son.

The house was built in the traditional architectural style, with three compartments and wooden walls. Though it was renovated many times, it still seems to look ancient and the original structure remains unchanged.

Nowadays, it lies behind the massive building of the bishop’s palace and considered as the oldest house in Saigon.

“People travel to faraway places to watch, in fascination, the kind of people they ignore at home”, said Dagobert D. Runes. I have to ask myself again, how well I really know my homeland.

Leave a Reply

